Friday Feature – Mr Paul Mullins

24th November 2023

What is your current position at Barrow Hills, and how long have you worked here?

My position at Barrow Hills is Maintenance and Operations Officer, and I have worked here for over six years.

Where were you born and where do you live now?

I was born in Godalming and never felt the desire to move away as Godalming is such a beautiful little town to live in. I live with my wife Tereza and my sons, Charlie and Matthew.

What's your favourite thing about working at Barrow Hills?

I just really like the variety of work where no two days are the same. Every morning when I arrive at Barrow Hills, I think what a lovely place this is. It gives me great job satisfaction seeing the children enjoying all the facilities we maintain all year round. I have a great maintenance team: Tony, Mark, and me! We get on really well and get jobs done no matter how challenging they are at times.

What’s your favourite childhood memory?

I have many childhood memories, but the one which I probably think of the most is about me and my friends playing football on the green in front of our houses, with no goals but a couple of jumpers each end of the pitch instead. We spent many hours outdoors just playing football and only went home when we got hungry or it got dark. Sometimes even the parents joined us for a game. That was fun!

What is your favourite school tradition/holiday to celebrate and why?

I really like Christmas at Barrow Hills because the atmosphere is so lovely with all the decorations around school and the endlessly excited children. The carol singing in the Chapel always sounds fantastic, but best of all is the huge tree in Reception which me and my team take great pride in putting in place and making look special.

What is on your bucket list?

Me and my family visited Venice for my wife’s birthday treat. I fell in love with Italy and feel like there is so much more to see there. Next stop perhaps Rome or Sicily, and who knows where after that. So, to answer this question, I would say it is probably travelling which is on my bucket list.

When you're not working, what is your favourite thing to do?

I have recently started playing golf with my 14 year old son Charlie and we now play regularly at Hurtmore Golf Club. It is really nice being on the golf course at the weekends in fresh air and spending some quality time with Charlie, whilst getting to share my golfing knowldge and teach him a new skill.

Is there anything else you would like to add?

I have a chocolate labrador called Bow. Having a dog gives you the perfect excuse for going out and exploring the beautiful countryside that surrounds Godalming.

Get Directions Make an Enquiry